0

Let's say Team A and Team B have a soccer match. Now the referee says: it's a penalty to Team A. Does it mean Team B Kicks the Penalty kick or Team A kicks it?

And I also saw the phrase "penalty for ...". Does both "penalty for team A" and "penalty to team A" mean the same?

3

Both penalty to and penalty for Team A mean that Team A have a penalty. Both are correct, there are just 2 ways of saying it.

If the penalty were for Team B, the referee could say:

Penalty against Team A

  • 1
    The answer is correct, but I would add that the referee would say "penalty against" the offending team (Team B). – Ross Murray Dec 8 '18 at 9:53

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.